One more place for girls to yammer on…

I’m Too Cool For This

I would have posted this last night but my wireless internet wasn’t working. The troubleshooting feature on my computer wasn’t much help as it kept suggesting I should plug an ethernet cable in so that I could have internet.
That would give me internet, but I was already in bed and not about to get up and plug my computer in at that time of night. A girl needs her beauty rest…plus Chelsesa Lately was on. I decided to do what I do with most problems and ignore it hoping it would go away. Tonight when I turned the computer back on the internet worked fine. I guess the only lesson I learned in all of this is to keep ignoring my problems and let them fix themselves.
Seems legit.

Anyhow I’m back with another great dating story. I’m also sending a shout-out to all of my readers for their crazy dating stories too. I know that many of you are no longer in the dating world but I think if you could just send along the nutty things that happened to you while single I will feel a lot better about myself.

I went on a date Sunday night. I was feeling especially relaxed and in control for this date because I had played my cards perfectly. The date was with a guy I’ve known for a few months, but he finally asked me out for a proper dinner last week. I didn’t initiate any conversation with him between the time he asked me on the date and the date itself because I think texting guys is stupid and that technology has ruined my generation’s ability to communicate face to face.

When it was time to meet this guy on Sunday I dressed up – but just a little, as not to appear to be trying too hard. (Side note: It takes a lot of effort to look like you put absolutely no effort at all into your looks.) I arrived just on time and he was already there waiting for me. I liked that.

The conversation went well and there were even tentative plans made to meet up again. Things all seemed to be going fine, until the next morning. I sent a polite “Thanks for last night, I had a good time” text. I didn’t hear anything for a few hours but didn’t let it get under my skin because I’m calm and collected and busy enough myself not to be waiting by my phone for a text. (Maybe I was busy texting all my friends about the date…but I was busy nonetheless, don’t judge me.)

A few hours later I received his reply: “ur welcome”

Excuse me?

No – “I had a good time too”?
No – “Thanks for coming”?
You couldn’t even take the time to spell “you’re” out completely?

Fine, fine. It was just one date. Even though I was a little surprised at his lack of reaction, I’m not invested in this guy enough to let it get me down.

Around 9pm last night I got another text from him. When I saw his name I was taken aback, I hadn’t really expected to hear from him again.
I’m sure you all are assuming that he was texting to ask me out again, to elaborate that he had a good time on our date too, maybe even to ask how my night was going. That’s what I was thinking. I was wrong. He wrote this:”want to sleep over?”

Um. No.
Unless your idea of a sleepover involves Olsen Twin movies and staying up chatting all night. If that’s the case, I’ll bring the popcorn.

Ur welcome.

2 responses

  1. Ha – whaaaaaaaat a tool bucket! A proverbial bucket of tools, I say! My dating life is a mire of awfulness, so I can absolutely sympathize. Two of my Greatest Hits include the guy with no teeth who lived with his parents and the guy with BO who kept trying to hold my hand and explained that he WAS the Green Lantern. AWESOME.

    December 7, 2011 at 9:28 am

    • Back up….you dated the Green Lantern??

      You win.

      December 7, 2011 at 11:54 pm

Leave a Reply

