One more place for girls to yammer on…

I Need New Insults

I got a letter in the mail this week informing me that I was not chosen for a position I interviewed for. The position was a management job at a car dealership that my family and I have bought at least four cars from in recent years. It’s a place that we really enjoyed doing business with and had a lot of respect for as a family owned operation.

…that is, until my interview…

During the interviewer the lady asking me questions put my resume down, looked me in the eye and asked when I graduated high school. I sort of knew where she was going with that question and felt uncomfortable answering, but answered anyhow because I’m proud of the fact that even though I’m 25, I’ve had a lot of experience and definitely possess the skill and maturity to carry out this job. Without skipping a beat the lady said, “you seem to have a lot of what we’re looking for, I’m just afraid you look too young to be effective in this position. You do look a lot younger than you are, you know.”

Hmmmm. I did not know that, actually.

Since she was so kind to reiterate her position in writing this week, I’m going to draft her a little letter myself.

Dear Discriminating Jerk Head,

As a long time customer of your car dealership I was excited to have the opportunity to interview with you a couple of weeks ago. Clearly you saw something on my resume that made you feel like I may be suited for this position, and I believe you are right, I would have been an asset to your team. (Haven’t you heard? I bake cookies.)

I respect the fact that while I’m very talented, other people in this world may exist that can execute a job, or at least a job interview, better than I can. Possibly you found one of those people, I hope it works out well.

Before I finish this letter, I’d like to offer you a piece of advice. Telling somebody that they look too young to do anything, is discrimination. My looks place no bearing on my abilities and I was appalled that you felt the need to point out your close minded and rude opinion. I’ll be sure to let my friends, family and anybody who asks know what car dealership it was and encourage them not to do business with them as long as you are still there.

Remember how we discussed I was a kindergarten teacher, and that being a teacher involved a lot of multi-tasking, management and other valuable work skills? Well something I else I learned in kindergarten is that if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. You might do well to remember that in the future.  (I also learned the term ‘jerk head’ while teaching. I never thought I’d be able to put that to use.)

Sincerely,

Baby Face

 

 

5 responses

  1. Katherine Judge

    Love it, as always.

    November 4, 2011 at 12:38 pm

  2. Did she actually put in writing that you are too young? It is actually illegal for someone to ask your age on an application or in an interview (they are however allowed to ask if you are over 18-just not by how much.) What she did is flat out illegal and it is age discrimination. She is a poor recruiter/interviewer and is leaving herself open to legal implications.

    Sorry for the rant, I work with recruiting and the are a few basic rules that you just can’t break and this is one of them. Other than me getting really angry at this lady, great read today! 🙂

    November 4, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    • Rachel

      Um yeah I second that comment! Definitely illegal!!

      November 6, 2011 at 10:14 am

  3. Maddie

    Brandy, as always…your ballsy nature has brightened evening the darkest of nights (especially on the first day of Daylights Savings). You may include in this response that you are considering legal representation…and that maybe 25 is “too young” for the position, but a close friend’s 30 years of successful law practice may be “just right” for this situation. Better yet…we can send this on his letterhead 🙂

    I love legitimate and legal threatening!!

    November 6, 2011 at 10:25 pm

  4. Pingback: I’m Done « Let's Grab a Coffee

Leave a Reply

