One more place for girls to yammer on…

Even I Didn’t See This Coming

Hi friends. Nice to see you’re all here. This is the longest I have gone without posting because, well, I’m exhausted.

It’s a good kind of exhausted. I’m not going to write about my new job today though, I’m going to write about another experience I’ve had recently.

After months of drafting resumes and cover letters to highlight how professional and experienced I am, I finally got really bored with it. Bored enough to write something that could probably be featured in a “what not to send to a possible employer” handbook. Then I, against my better judgement, sent it to a company I wanted to work for.

The letter looked something like this:

 

Dear Person with the Ability to Hire Me,

I recently saw that your company is looking to hire somebody in the marketing department. I’d like you to consider me as I’m confident I can help you build so much buzz you’ll think it’s another earthquake. East coast style.

In addition to being incredibly likable and a great salesperson, I also possess all of those skills that you would want an employee to have:

Hard worker? Oh yes. I have no boyfriend, only a couple of hobbies and just a few friends, so distractions are minimal.

Works well with others? I love others! I also love baking for others. Wouldn’t the office look good with a plate of cookies in it?

Multi-tasker? I used to teach Kindergarten. If I can tie shoes, serve snack, read Dr. Seuss and monitor time-outs without breaking a sweat, there isn’t anything you could throw at me that would make me stumble in my stilletos. (That’s not true. I wear flats.)

The bottom line is that I work hard, and love people. I also love this field. I enjoy being witty and approachable, but have the proven ability to suit up and run board meetings. Your company  represents the best entertainment in this area and I would be very enthusiastic about representing this company.

I have attached my resume to prove that I’m a capable employee with experience in reaching goals. I hope to hear from you soon to talk about how I could add to your team. We can also talk about your favorite kinds of cookies or why I prefer to wear flats.
Brandy
I changed the wording only to take out anything that identifies what company I sent this letter to.
The best part? They loved it. When they actually called me for an interview I laughed so hard that I cried.
Moral of the story? I’m not sure. Probably something along the lines of  ‘Stop Trying So Hard’.
Since it’s Friday, I encourage you all to follow in my footsteps. If there is something you have been working really hard on lately, stop. Don’t stop trying altogether, just give it a really half-hearted attempt today. I’m pretty sure only good can come of it.
9 responses

  1. Katie

    Thats awesome Brandy!! I read your posts every once in a while and you make me giggle!

    October 21, 2011 at 11:22 am

  2. Katherine Judge

    Brandy! This is awesome! I’ve already forwarded it out to some of my other friends and family because I loved it so much! I’m very very proud of you, Chica 😉

    October 21, 2011 at 11:30 am

  3. That is freaking awesome. Way to go! Good luck with the interview and have a good weekend.

    October 21, 2011 at 5:01 pm

  4. I think you are my new hero for actually having the balls to send that…and for getting a positive response 🙂 SInce we moved and I have also spent a lot of time job searching I can really appreciate the boredom of the standard cover letter! I forwarded this to my sister who has spent the past few years looking for her dream job and feeling sick of the typical letters (she did finally just get her perfect job. Also, when I read this yesterday I was in need of your advice to be a little half-hearted and it totally made the day better. Anyway, super kudos to your creativity and good luck! PS-I have been talking for a while about starting a foodie blog and reading your posts is really inspiring me! You sound like you are having a lot of fun doing this 🙂

    October 22, 2011 at 11:29 am

  5. Pingback: We’re All Friends Here, Right? « Let's Grab a Coffee

  6. Whaaaat this gives me ever so much hope. Plus, not to go all after school special on you, but they should be so lucky to have you!

    October 25, 2011 at 12:06 pm

Leave a Reply

