One more place for girls to yammer on…

A Quick Note To My Facebook Friends

As with jobs, guys, and clothes…I’m very picky as to who I consider a  friend.

Not because I think I’m better than anybody, or because I’m trying to be exclusive, just because I like to surround myself with good people.

That being said, when you post your 1,000th Facebook status about how you are against child abuse or in favor of cancer research, you are telling me something I already know, that you are a good person who cares.

But by implying that if I don’t re-post your poorly written status I should feel guilty for not displaying my love of abused puppies for an hour, well, that’s just rude.

I have a proposal for you all – think about all of the time you spend on Facebook reading and re-posting these messages. What are these messages actually doing? Creating awareness for issues we’re already aware of? I challenge you to take 1/10 of the time you will spend on Facebook next month and do something productive for one of those causes.

Sad about cancer? Contact the American Cancer Society, they have a lot of uses for volunteers.
Want to help those puppies and kitty friends? Talk to an animal sanctuary. They would love your help!

At a loss for how to help your cause? Email me. I’m sure we can come up with something together: letsgrabacoffee@gmail.com

But for the love of all that is good in this world, stop with the Facebook statuses!
 

 

 

One response

  1. Oh good grief, I’m soooooooooooo with you on this!!! Not because I think people shouldn’t post what they are concerned about, but because the grammar nearly ALWAYS SUCKS!!! I don’t repost because I don’t want to have to correct everything! Alright, I don’t like to be bullied either!

    October 30, 2011 at 3:59 am

Leave a Reply

