One more place for girls to yammer on…

Thanks, Mom.

This was a discussion my family had one night last week (During this discussion my dad was cleaning his guns at the kitchen table. He does this a lot. It’s probably about as safe as it sounds.):

Mom: Why is it so hot in here?
Dad: Because I turned the heat on, it’s 50 degrees outside!
Mom: Well if you guys got up and moved a little more, you wouldn’t be so cold.
Dad: You know Brandy, someday these guns are going to be worth a lot of money. If you’re smart, when I die, you’ll take them to a sporting goods store and trade them in for a winter coat. You’ll freeze around here without me to turn the heat on.

 

Mom had her own gem during dinner tonight where I had expressed frustration over a job interview that didn’t go well:

Mom (to my dad): One of our outlets isn’t working, pretty soon I’m leaving you for an electrician.
Me: No need, I can just date an electrician.
Mom: If you’re as good at dating as you are at finding a job, I’m screwed.

 

My parents are both great at a lot of things. Boosting morale might not be one of them.

 

 

2 responses

  1. please know that I am going to acquire a gun if only to clean it ominously at the table whenever my roommate refuses to do the dishes.

    October 11, 2011 at 10:40 am

  2. Caro

    That’s pretty much exactly the kind of thing my Mum would say too – we definitely need to get them together some time!

    October 14, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Leave a Reply

