One more place for girls to yammer on…

Don’t Judge Me TSA

Greetings from Texas!

It’s my first time in Texas and I have seen stars everywhere! Not stars like Jim Carrey and Uma Thurman. Stars like – “Oh hi y’all, did you forget you were in the Lone Star State? You did? Well, let us put stars on every store, bridge and road sign to remind you!”

Texans are very proud of their state. At the airport we saw many cars that were specifically “Texas Edition”. It made me wonder what a “Pennsylvania Edition” car would look like. Even better, I wonder what a “Massachusetts Edition” car would look like, an extra big horn so they could honk more easily?

One thing that I would’ve hoped I’d be better at by now is packing. I lived in Massachusetts for a year and half and traveled often between my home there and my home in Pennsylvania with my family. Even on long weekends I use a giant suitcase to travel when I should only need a few things. A linebacker could fit in my suitcase.  

As I packed for a whole week in Texas, I knew it was going to be a problem from the get-go. I can never pick things to leave behind, and usually end up bringing outfits I haven’t worn in years, “just in case.” Looking back I probably didn’t need any of the sweaters; there are no cold nights here. I also didn’t need 12 white camisoles. I’m just always afraid of a spill! It might be time to invest in a tide-to-go pen. That would cut my suitcase volume in half.

Apparently TSA was concerned about my packing abilities too. When we arrived at the place we were staying and I opened my suitcase, it was destroyed. Don’t worry though; TSA left me a nice little note explaining they felt the need to check my suitcase for security precautions. I didn’t notice anything missing, I guess they decided that my hair gel and nail file were harmless.

***Edit: I was just informed that a Pennsylvania style car does exist. It’s called a buggy.

2 responses

  1. Caro

    hehehe I love the comment about the stars everywhere – as a pesky immigrant I feel like the US flag is everywhere to remind us where we all are! Didn’t realise it extended to state level as well.
    Hope you had a good time!! Missing you xx

    July 28, 2011 at 3:51 pm

  2. A great post that should be read by tons of readers. Hint, hint…

    July 28, 2011 at 7:27 pm

Leave a Reply

