One more place for girls to yammer on…

I’m No Cowgirl

My first full day as a Wellsborian again was full of pretty standard Pennsylvania/Upstate New York fare. I find it pretty comforting that I have been away for over a year and a half and things haven’t really changed around here.

The first item on today’s agenda? Why a trip to Dunkin’ Donuts of course! In Massachusetts I couldn’t spit a watermelon seed without hitting a Dunkin’ Donuts. We only have one in this entire county. Because Dunkin’ Donuts apparently has some form of crack-caffeine in their coffee, it tends to be a pretty popular place. I saw no less than 5 people I knew well enough to talk to and probably a dozen more that I could name.  

After some unpacking the family decided to go to The Texas Roadhouse to celebrate my birthday. It being my first time at this restaurant, I wasn’t really sure what I was in for. A cozy place for a quiet dinner it is not. When you walk in the door you notice peanut shells everywhere! They decided it is perfectly acceptable to give each table a bucket full of peanuts and let them shell and discard as they wish. People clearly find this to be awesome. I’m just glad I don’t have to clean the floor.

Before any food ever comes you are served hot dinner rolls with cinnamon butter. They are delicious, but I’m not used to having something sweet as the start of my meal. This was definitely the first mistake. After a round of appetizers and a salad, I was full! It was all tasty, but it was a lot of food. Once the entrée came, I had no interest.

As I pushed my food around my plate memories from my childhood started flooding back. Does anybody else remember pushing their vegetables around on their plate to make it seem like you ate some? I don’t know who I was trying to fool. I was concentrating so hard on my food that I didn’t notice the group of employees that had gathered at our table with a saddle. Yes, a saddle.

“Is it your birthday?” Our waitress asked, motioning to the saddle.

Happy Birthday...now hop on!!

 

No. No it is not my birthday. No promise of cakes or presents was going to get me on that thing. Don’t worry though, they had a plan b. Our waitress grabbed the lamp overhead, shone it on my head and announced to the restaurant that I was there celebrating my birthday, and would they all be kind enough to “Yee-haw?”

Lucky for me, they were.

3 responses

  1. I can’t believe you’ve never been to Texas Roadhouse before! We LOVE it there, they have the best steaks! But the birthday celebration is pretty embarrassing, especially when they KNOW it’s your birthday…a friend of the family who is the manager at ours totally embarrassed my dad, but it was still a lot of fun!

    July 18, 2011 at 1:05 pm

  2. Heather

    Wimp.

    July 18, 2011 at 4:50 pm

  3. Maddie

    BAHHHHAHAHAHA! I can see this all playing out, and it is awesome! 🙂

    July 19, 2011 at 7:53 am

Leave a Reply

