One more place for girls to yammer on…

Alone (I should probably tell you I’m a closet Heart fan.)

Thanks a lot Mr. Howe.

The summer before 2nd grade my soon-to-be teacher assigned the class a questionnaire to complete during our break. I vividly remember sitting at the dinner table with my mom and going over the questions. They were your basic “get to know you” questions that every teacher, guidance counselor and dorm room R.A. use to make you feel like you have a connection:

Favorite color: Pink. Easy.

Favorite food: Macaroni and tomatoes of course! (No, not macaroni and cheese and tomatoes. Not goulash. Macaroni noodles and a can of diced tomatoes. Add butter and salt…perfection.)

Hobbies: Reading The Babysitter’s Club, fighting with my sister for more phone time and watching Flash Forward on the Disney channel.

What do you like to do when you are alone: ……….

Looking back, it’s a strange question to ask an 8 year old. I’m too young to be home alone and spend most of my time trailing my sister and her friends anyhow. I looked to my mom to help me figure out what I like to do when alone and she concluded that “You don’t really like being alone.”

This kid needs a cat too!

 

She was right, I didn’t like being alone as a kid. And I still don’t. If something funny, sad, exiting, strange, infuriating or weird is going on, I think its best when experienced with other people! Aren’t shared experiences a part of what makes relationships strong? When I’m alone I find myself wondering what I would say to somebody if they were there. If you know me, you know I have a comment for just about everything, so much so, that I decided to create an entire website dedicated to sharing all the things I think about in a day.

 I often wonder why I went into the career of teaching young children when I constantly find myself wishing there were another adult in the classroom with me so I could talk about the funny or aggravating things happening in the classroom that day. My classroom neighbors can tell you that I often pop my head in to share a particularly talented piece of artwork or…as happened yesterday…one that might alert us of a future terrorist in our midst.

Lately, I have been thinking a lot about alone time, partly because I was living in a situation that forced me to have a lot of it, and partly because very soon I will be living all alone. I try to think about the ‘freedom’ I will have that many claim to be jealous of. I will get to watch a lot more “Keeping Up With The Kardashians,” that’s for sure. I will also be ordering from a lot of infomercials I’m afraid. Have you seen that new frozen-banana-ice cream-contraption-thing? Too. Cool.

 The blog will probably get updated a lot, look forward to that. Unfortunately now my posts will not be of exciting (?) day trips to Plymouth, but exciting day trips to the local Dunkin’ Donuts. Don’t knock the local Dunkin’ Donuts though, you never know what you will see there.

Donuts? Hell yeah!!

Maybe this blog will become a little more interesting.

 I clearly need that cat.

What do you all like to do when you’re alone?

5 responses

  1. Oh yay! I LOVE Keeping Up With The Kardashians, that’s the only reality show I watch (besides Jersey Shore, of course)! Now I have someone to talk about it with!

    July 15, 2011 at 9:20 am

  2. I love to just sit and watch TV and melt into the couch when I’m alone. My only alone time now is when Connor takes a nap, so it makes my couch melting time more precious.

    BTW…I LOVED Flash Forward!

    July 15, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    • Do you remember a show with a family called The Torklesons?? That was classic too.

      July 15, 2011 at 10:30 pm

  3. Brandy,

    I think being alone takes some getting used to. You get to find out what YOU want to do or like to do. As for what I like to do when I’m alone, I read, I putter, I organize, I do a lot of writing. I do yoga (I remember you saying you wanted to try it…now would be a great time to try, no?), sometimes I would just go for a ride on our beautiful Pennsylvania back roads and sing my guts out!!! I also got involved in lots of things. Work is great but there are lots of places that would love to have some volunteer help too. Find something close to your heart and get involved. It’s a great way to help others, to make friends and make yourself feel good! I wish you safe travels!!!

    Michelle

    July 21, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    • I think you are right, it does take getting used to! I’m really starting to welcome the challenge.
      Thanks for stopping by the site! 🙂

      August 2, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

