One more place for girls to yammer on…

Be Careful What You Wish For

I had tossed around the idea of starting a blog for a few months before I finally put pen to paper, (Or…key to keyboard, I guess?) One of the things that held me back at first is that I thought the blog needed to have a project behind it.

Julie had her cookbook.  

The waiter had his rants.

That one guy had sh*t his dad said.

I had…a pretty normal life. I liked it that way.

Well my friends – I now have a project! This week  I will leave the home, job, city and friends I have known for the past year and half  to start over. To really start over. It’s not exactly where I thought I would be at 25, but it’s where I need to be right now. As I was making a to-do list tonight of all the logistical things I need to take care of, I started thinking about all the things I would like to do for myself on the road to becoming independent. Some of my goals are big and a little daunting, but they are all exciting!  As a teacher I know that all projects need deadlines. So here it is, my 10 things to do in 100 days…ahem…

1. Find a job. That’s a big one. It deserves the #1 spot.

2. Find an apartment. Preferably one that allows cats, I’ve always wanted a cat! I shall name him Lenny.

3. Make a new friend. My friends and family have been incredible this weekend, more friends would be even indredibler! (Remember, the best words are the ones I make up. Urban dictionary is going to come knocking on my door someday.)

4. Share a new experience with my niece. I have missed out on more than I would have like to in the time I lived away. I would like to gain something by sharing something with her she’s never done before. Maybe bungee jumping? (Just kidding Heather…put your phone down.)

5. Change my hair color.

6. Become more active. Once upon a time I got into great shape walking around my parent’s pavilion. Well, that pavilion is still there. Time to fire up the ipod, lace up the sneakers and start going in circles again.

7. Visit Boston. Maybe do the tourist thing this time. You think I would have seen the aquarium by now.

8. Read a book that will teach me something. Not that I don’t learn important things from Chick-Lit like what to say on a first date or how to get revenge on your cheating husband, but maybe I should try for something a little more intellectual.

9. Just breathe. I get so caught up in how to get from A-Z, I forget all of the letters in between sometimes. (That’s a problem when you teach Kindergarten.) I plan on making a strong effort to catching myself when I become overwhelmed and taking it one day, step, minute, second at a time.

10. I’m going to leave this one blank, but I would love your suggestions!

6 responses

  1. Debra

    Brandy! I heard from SC that you are leaving us! I am sad to see you go, but in the meantime…. I NEED details! =) Let’s grab a coffee soon!!

    July 11, 2011 at 10:09 am

  2. Abby Glenn

    I love your made-up words and your blog. It’s my new favorite thing, and I am excited to get to share your journey with you!! I’ll try to think of a suggestion for number ten. 🙂

    July 12, 2011 at 12:37 am

  3. Heather

    I love your list! Good luck! :0)

    July 12, 2011 at 2:13 pm

  4. Mary

    Hi Brandy! This is a great list. I can’t wait for you to post pictures of Lenny.

    I wish you could skip work on Friday. Connor and I are going to the aquarium.

    I’ll think about a suggestion for #10…I need time…lol.

    Mary

    July 12, 2011 at 8:53 pm

  5. Love it! And if you need any hints on being a crazy cat lady, I could probably give you some pointers.

    August 1, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    • Thanks! First step, cat. I can’t wait to get a cat!

      August 2, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

