One more place for girls to yammer on…

Adventures in Walmart

Ahhh, home sweet home. One big difference between my life in MA and my life in PA is Walmart. In MA I have access to any and every store I need, and can get to them in under 20 minutes. Being home is nothing like that. There is 1 Walmart 25 minutes away from my parents abode and anything else takes a grand trip to the mall. A grand 1 hour trip to the mall. Rarely is there something that you need so badly that you will take an unplanned drive to grander shopping centers – so on a day like today, Walmart it is.

While today’s trip was pretty uneventful, my last venture in MA did not go as well. Here is the copy of the email I sent out shortly upon my return:

Par-tay!

 

I went to Walmart tonight to get some party hats for the graduation
tomorrow. Just the cone shapes birthday party hats. My trip goes a
little something like this:

I go to the Hanover store and as soon as I walk in I realize that I
have no idea where to find the birthday party supplies. Its 7:00. I’m
tired and hungry and not in the mood to scour a place with cement
floors and fluorescent lighting looking for cardboard cones with
elastic chin straps, so I find the nearest employee.

Me: Hi there, where can I find the party hats?
Employee #1: ummmm….in the birthday party section.
Me: Ok, makes sense, where might that be?
Employee #1: (looking around) ummm….near the cards and balloons??
Me: Uh-huh. Where are they?
Employee #1: (looking around, now visibly uncomfortable. I check her
name tag, she’s been “servicing with a smile” for 2 years)
Me: Ok, no problem. I’ll find them, thanks for your help.

Luckily I stumble upon party looking things pretty quickly, but the
aisles are a mess!! I sift through the things for a minute but I’m so
over the task at this point. I see a lady walk by in the tell-tale
navy shirt and khaki’s, so I flag her down:

Me: Excuse me, miss?
Employee #2: (Clearly did not want to be stopped on her way to what
I’m assuming is the break room to eat her 7:15 snack) Yes?
Me: Where would I find the party hats?
Employee #2: In the party section.
(Really??!!!)
Me: Where would that be?
Employee #2: (Points to the section I just came from, I was afraid of
that.) There.
Me: And there are party hats there?
Employee #2: I don’t know, have you looked through the stuff?
Me: Well…I skimmed it….
Employee #2: Ok, well that’s what we have.
 

 

2 responses

  1. I. Hate. Walmart.

    This story is hilarious!

    Btw, thought I’d introduce myself, I’m Anita! I work with Bethany Hawn, she recommend this fantastic blog 🙂

    July 12, 2011 at 9:35 pm

Leave a Reply

