One more place for girls to yammer on…

Snackology (Because the best words are the ones I make up.)

As I pack to leave for the long drive to PA today, I’m faced with a very serious conundrum: What snacks do I pack?

In the 18 months I have been making this drive I have found that there is a balance. If I pack too many salty snacks I will finish my large MaryLou’s coffee and bottle of water before I am even on the Mass Pike. This creates the problem of having to stop before I am even in need of gas. This also creates the problem that my salty snack of choice was probably not that nutritious or filling. (I’m talking to you Lays baked chips and slim jims.) On the bright side, McDonalds and Massachusetts are bff’s and the powers that be on the highway have allowed McDonalds to plop one of their golden arches every 2.2 miles.

Ahhh….Micky D’s. What to get, what to get. Since I’m going for snacks here and not full on meals, (I’ll save that for the Subway in Scoharie, NY. Great food. Gross bathrooms.) the dollar menu seems like the way to go. Now that I’ve filled up on salty I’m in need of sweet. Not one to disregard the fact that I still will have had nothing nutritious today, I’ll order a milkshake and a salad. Seems reasonable. Life is, after all, all about balance. Now if I could only find snacks that are as good company as the ones Jakey-poo is talking to in the picture, I’d be ready to roll!

What are your favorite road trip snacks? I encourage you all to start a list here so that when you come to visit me this summer, (hint) you are well prepared. Just remember, if all else fails, there’s always McDonalds.

One response

  1. Heather

    I’m a cashews/trail mix fan. We also usually grab some mentos for our road trips. I enjoyed your post by the way! 🙂

    July 6, 2011 at 11:38 am

Leave a Reply

